I’m thrilled to announce the start of a new weekly webshow and podcast, “The EdTech Situation Room.” Our byline is “where technology news meets educational analysis.” Follow us on Twitter @edtechSR and follow us on Blab.im to stay updated. This podcasting effort has been at least three years in the making, so it’s very exciting to have it launching at last!

I’m co-hosting the EdTech Situation Room with educational technology guru Jason Neiffer (@techsavvyteach), who provided a fantastic summary of what we’re hoping the show will become in the first four minutes of our first episode from last week. You can download an audio podcast version or check out the archived Google Hangout video, and access our linked shownotes both on the episode page and our now-ongoing list of show discussion links. (Shared as an embedded Google Doc.) You can subscribe to the audio podcast with your favorite podcatcher app (ours is PocketCasts @pocketcasts) using our Feedburner link.

The iTunes podcast description for our show is:

A weekly podcast and live webshow on Wednesday evenings, featuring analysis of current technology news through an educational lens. Hosted by educators Jason Neiffer (@techsavvyteach) from Montana and Wesley Fryer (@wfryer) from Oklahoma. Shared live on Blab.im and archived in both video and audio mp3 formats for your time-shifting, podcatching pleasure. Join our conversations using the Twitter hashtag #edtechSR.

This week will be our first time to use Blab.im, a rather amazing and free webshow app and service I first learned about from Peggy George (@pgeorge) last fall. Blab allows show hosts to have up to four simultaneous guests, and dynamically add or remove guests as desired – so if you join us LIVE you might be able to chime in on 1 or more topics as our guest! At this point we’re scheduling our shows for WEDNESDAY NIGHTS at 10 pm Eastern / 9 pm Central / 8 pm Mountain / 7 pm Pacific. This tutorial might be helpful if you’re new to Blab. Our next show will be this Wednesday, February 3 at 10 pm Eastern / 9 pm Central / 8 pm Mountain / 7 pm Pacific.

The way Blab handles viewer questions and lets hosts manage as well as share them during the show is super. I can’t wait for Wednesday nights! I hope you’ll make “The EdTech Situation Room” a regular part of your weekly media diet! Remember you can tweet us links or feedback using the hashtag #edtechSR. For a preview of some of the news items, articles and posts we’ll likely be discussing this week, check out our links page.

If you enjoyed this post and found it useful, consider subscribing to Wes' free, weekly newsletter. Generally Wes shares a new edition on Monday mornings, and it includes a TIP, a TOOL, a TEXT (article to read) and a TUTORIAL video. You can also check out past editions of Wes' newsletter online free!


Did you know Wes has published several eBooks and "eBook singles?" 1 of them is available free! Check them out! Also visit Wes' subscription-based tutorial VIDEO library supporting technology integrating teachers worldwide!

MORE WAYS TO LEARN WITH WES: Do you use a smartphone or tablet? Subscribe to Wes' free magazine "iReading" on Flipboard! Follow Dr. Wesley Fryer on Twitter (@wfryer), Facebook and Google+. Also "like" Wes' Facebook page for "Speed of Creativity Learning". Don't miss Wesley's latest technology integration project, "Show With Media: What Do You Want to CREATE Today?"

On this day..

Tagged with →  
Share →
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License.

Made with Love in Oklahoma City