I’d like to invite you to join Steve Hargadon and I tomorrow (Saturday, April 11, 2009) to discuss issues and ideas surrounding EduBloggerCon09 and the “BarCamp” model in the Classroom 2.0 LIVE Elluminate room, at 9am Pacific / 10am Mountain / 11am Central / 12pm Eastern / 5pm GMT. Visit Classroom 2.0 Live for more information.

EduBloggerCon 2008

How can we, as a community, make EduBloggerCon09 the best and most valuable learning experience it can be for all participants? Let’s put our heads together on this one. I’m sure we can create a great event at this year’s NECC!

For more background, please see my ISTEconnects post from earlier this evening, “EduBloggerCon09 and the BarCamp model,” as well as Steve’s post from today, “Blowing the Doors off NECC 2009.” Steve’s post is not only about EduBloggerCon but also NECC Live / NECC Unplugged, which will likely be combined this year. Also, I’d recommend reading up on the “BarCamp” participatory event model via WikiPedia. The proposal we’ll be discussing is embracing the BarCamp model for EduBloggerCon. It’s a successful “unconference” model that’s worked in numerous other venues. Check out the BarCamp wiki for more info about the model as well as upcoming BarCamps around the world which you can attend. If you have doubts about creative people’s willingness to share great ideas, the BarCamp global hCalendar (which is subscribable via iCal) may dispel those perceptions! (Help on hCalendar is also available.) Next weekend, for example (April 17-18) there are BarCamps in:

  1. Ilmenau, Germany
  2. Almaty, Kazakhstan
  3. Madison, Wisconsin, USA
  4. Orlando, Florida, USA
  5. Rochester, New York, USA

Hope you can join our Elluminate conversation tomorrow and contribute to this important dialog!

Hat tip to James Deaton for first introducing me to the BarCamp model, and Joe Corbett for providing Steve and I with ideas and resources related to BarCamp implementation.

Technorati Tags:
, , , , , , , , , ,

If you enjoyed this post and found it useful, consider subscribing to Wes' free, weekly newsletter. Generally Wes shares a new edition on Monday mornings, and it includes a TIP, a TOOL, a TEXT (article to read) and a TUTORIAL video. You can also check out past editions of Wes' newsletter online free!


Did you know Wes has published several eBooks and "eBook singles?" 1 of them is available free! Check them out! Also visit Wes' subscription-based tutorial VIDEO library supporting technology integrating teachers worldwide!

MORE WAYS TO LEARN WITH WES: Do you use a smartphone or tablet? Subscribe to Wes' free magazine "iReading" on Flipboard! Follow Dr. Wesley Fryer on Twitter (@wfryer), Facebook and Google+. Also "like" Wes' Facebook page for "Speed of Creativity Learning". Don't miss Wesley's latest technology integration project, "Show With Media: What Do You Want to CREATE Today?"

On this day..

Share →
Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License.

Made with Love in Oklahoma City